Writing 101: Lost and Found (Part One)

Daily prompt: Write about something/someone that was part of your life and isn’t any more.

Twist: Make today’s post the first in a three-part series.

Career blocksOnce upon a time, I woke up on weekday mornings to the sound of an alarm clock, showered, got dressed in business attire, and drove to work. I’m not sure if you would call it a “career”, but I had a job and a pretty decent one at that. Almost eight years ago, that part of my life changed and I became a stay-at-home mom. The days of meetings and agendas, project deadlines and performance reviews came to a close.

I lost a certain amount of control I had over my day and interactions. I lost the ability to choose how I spent the hours of my day. I lost my sense of worth by earning a paycheck. I lost my identity as a co-worker and marketing director. I lost my right to eat a meal without cutting up someone else’s meat, to take am uninterrupted shower, to not have to answer the question “why?” fifty-seven times a day.

Today, I have a 7 year old daughter, and 6 and 4 year old sons. I’m out of the “early years” and am starting to really get into the thick of parenthood. The idea of a career and a life in which I call the majority of the shots are distant memories now. My life is filled with laundry, packing lunches, finding shoes, driving to activities, and posting artwork on the refrigerator. Important meetings have been lost to play dates and birthday parties. Quality business suits were traded in for workout pants – or on fancy days, jeans and v-neck t-shirts. Performance reviews have morphed into daily prayers that I’m not messing my kids up too much and semester-ly Parent-Teacher conferences. The two versions of me – career me and mothering me – are vastly different.

Making the shift from out-of-the-house work to stay-at-home work was a difficult shift to make. My husband and I had many late-night/early-morning discussions on how I could find my way in my new role as a mother. Losing one’s identity and putting on a new one is no small feat! Now that I have thoroughly and completely transitioned to full-time Mama mode, I can say that while I “lost” my former self, I have been lucky to “gain” a new self…one that is no less “me” than the first. Life really is about losing and gaining, growing and changing.

For my insights on how to make the transition from full-time career mode to full-time mother mode easier, check out “Lost and Found: PART TWO”…. To be published whenever the Writing 101 folks assign it as a topic. (Ooooooh, the suspense!)

About blogheavenstobetsy

Me... a military wife (Go Navy!), a mom, and just me. Writing about the adventures our family has from the day-to-day to the amazing opportunities afforded us by my husband's career. Blessed beyond belief and trying to capture it all with words. View all posts by blogheavenstobetsy

Leave a Reply

