Marriage: “Like a Dream”

engaged couple holding on hands - view from backsideA few days ago, a friend of mine told me about a YouTube video she came across on Facebook. The video tells the story of a 96-year-old Illinois man who entered a song writing contest he saw in his local paper.  The man, Fred Stobaugh, wrote the sweetest song about his wife who had passed away in April.  The couple had been married for 73 years. If you haven’t heard the song yet or heard the story about it, you should. Check it out here.

Did you go and watch the video? I hope you did.  If not, go ahead and do it now.

So you came back to see what I had to say about this, eh? Bet you had to get some tissues first, eh? It’s just the sweetest story.

The depth of Mr. Stobaugh’s love for his wife is truly inspiring. Imagine looking back on your life and marriage saying, “It was almost dream-like, but it was real.” I hope 70 years from now I will say my marriage was like a dream. I hope my husband will say the same thing.  I’m pretty sure there is only one person on this earth who can really influence the quality of my husband’s marriage.  That’s me.

So what can I do today and tomorrow to ensure our marriage not only lasts but thrives for another 60 years? The answer to that question is something that deserves active and purposeful pursuit.  Every day will be an opportunity to make more good memories and fall in love all over again.

I am sure there are a bazillion things I could do differently to be a better wife . But I’m just going to start with doing things on purpose: I am going to purposefully be thankful for my amazing husband who isn’t hesitant to show me he loves me. I am going to purposefully be the leader of his own personal fan club.  It will be a fan club of 4… me and the kids… but we are going to make sure our guy knows he’s loved.  I am going to purposefully participate in the fun of being a family.  We may have to tackle our Chores List, but I’m going to make sure there are fun things on that list too.  I am going to purposefully find joy in the life we have create and embrace the obstacles that may come our way.

Our 70th wedding anniversary will be in 2071.  When we look back over 70 years of marriage, I pray that my husband will see me as a wife who appreciated him for him, who loved him more than anything else in the world, who created fun memories for the family, and found joy in the life we created together.  I hope we remember when and how we fell in love the first time and that we continued to fall in love time and time again.

I would like to thank Mr. Stobaugh for sharing his story and his love for his wife, for motivating me to take a closer look at the husband I love and the wife that I am to him, for showing us that it is actually possible to have a marriage that is beyond our wildest dreams.

About blogheavenstobetsy

Me... a military wife (Go Navy!), a mom, and just me. Writing about the adventures our family has from the day-to-day to the amazing opportunities afforded us by my husband's career. Blessed beyond belief and trying to capture it all with words. View all posts by blogheavenstobetsy

One response to “Marriage: “Like a Dream”

  • Maura

    I cried and cried listening to Mr. Stobaugh talk about his wife and seeing his face while he listened to his song. I was watching something the other day, and the wife said, “I’m here because I want to be here. I’m choosing to be here.” Every day we can decide to choose our marriage, choose our spouse, show up and be their for them and for our family every day. Always love what you write, my brilliant friend!

Leave a Reply

